Juried Art Competiton 2017

B-W Greenway and the Fairborn Art Association Announce Awards for the Landscape2017 Juried Art Exhibition.

Since 2010, B-W Greenway and the Fairborn Art Association have sponsored a juried art exhibition to heighten public awareness of our local greenspaces and the need to preserve them as well as to foster an interest in nature through art.  Each year, a different location within the greenway is selected for the artists to develop their artwork.  The 2017 locations were the Estel Wenrick Wetlands and the Mad River Entrance in Clark County.

This year, the competition attracted 27 artists and 64 pieces of artwork. The judge for Landscape2017 was Ms. Jean Koeller.  Ms. Koeller teaches painting at Stivers School for the Arts.  Ms. Koeller noted “ It’s always great to see everyone’s approach and love of the landscape genre that is very important to me.”

On July 9, at the opening reception held at the Fairborn Art Association gallery, awards were made to the following artists:

First Place – Shirlee Bauer, Golden Springs Fields

Second Place – Susie King, Wetlands 2

Third Place – Abigail Little, Mad Maple

Honorable Mention, Nine artists received ribbons: Anita Wilson, Kim Ceccarelli, Elizabeth Beecher, Rhonda Sloan, Patricia Dunker, Ed Lehman, Shari Little, Diana Hoke, and Jim Little

The Fairborn Art Association Gallery, 221 North Central Ave., Fairborn, OH will be open Sunday, July 23rd from 2 to 4pm for the public to enjoy the many pieces of art.